The safety of Swift

We strongly support the improvement of vehicle safety and specify our new vehicles coming into New Zealand with the latest safety technology. As there has been some confusion created by the proposed government ban on used imports, we thought it important to clarify and reassure New Zealand drivers on the following:

  • Our current range of new Swift autos have an independently assessed 5-star ANCAP rating. For more information on ANCAP testing see below. The current Swift manual has a 4-star ANCAP rating. Both the Swift Sport manual and automatic have a 5-star ANCAP rating.
  • All New Zealand new Swifts sold since 2005 were released with either a 4-star or 5-star ANCAP rating meeting the safety requirements at the time.
  • The government uses a different rating system for used cars 7 years or older, which is based on a range of data unrelated to ANCAP.
  • Used imported Swift models may not have the same safety features as New Zealand new models and do not carry an ANCAP safety rating.
  • The proposed government policy would not affect used cars that have already been imported into the country.

If you would like more information on your Swift, feel free to contact your local Suzuki dealer or Suzuki New Zealand by clicking here.

To read the official press release, please click here.

What is an ANCAP safety rating?

ANCAP RATING LOGO 2017_Black text & black lines (5 star).png

ANCAP or the Australasian New Car Assessment Program is Australasia’s independent vehicle safety authority.

Using a rating system of 0 to 5 stars, ANCAP ratings indicate the level of safety a vehicle provides for occupants and pedestrians in the event of a crash, as well as its ability — through technology — to avoid or minimise the effects of a crash.

These independent safety ratings are published for a range of vehicles entering the Australian and New Zealand market.

ANCAP safety ratings are determined based on a series of internationally recognised, independent crash tests and safety assessments – involving a range of destructive physical crash tests, an assessment of on-board safety features and equipment, and performance testing of active collision avoidance technologies.

All vehicles rated by ANCAP are evaluated and scored against four key areas of assessment:

  • Adult occupant protection
  • Child occupant protection
  • Vulnerable road user protection
  • Safety assist

Safety features required to meet the highest 5-star rating have changed over the period. Below are the ANCAP ratings for New Zealand new Swifts released from 2005 until now.

For more information go to the ANCAP website or click here.

Swift ANCAP rating.png

What safety features does the new Swift have?

Our current Suzuki Swift range has the following safety features:

Suzuki Swift GL manual:

  • 6 SRS front, side, and curtain airbags
  • Electronic Stability Programme (ESP)
  • ABS with EBD and Brake Assist

Suzuki GL auto adds:

  • Reversing camera
  • Hill hold control

Suzuki GLX adds:

  • Dual Sensor Brake Support
  • Lane departure warning system
  • Weaving alert
  • Millimetre wave radar
  • Adaptive cruise control

Swift RS and Swift Sport adds:

  • Headlamp high beam assist

For more specifications, see the Swift or Swift Sport pages.

Watch the Swift safety video

*Please do not rely on the Advanced Forward Detection System. It is an aid only and the ability to detect obstacles, lanes and control the vehicle is limited. Always drive safely.